Our focus today

Wireless communication is revolutionizing the way we speak to each other, conduct business and organize our lives. Today, smartphones, GPS devices and wireless Internet connections are as indispensable as they are commonplace. Our reliance on wireless communication will only increase in the future. In fact, experts believe that by 2020, mobile data traffic will likely be 1,000 times what it is today!

At the Communications Research Centre (CRC), we recognize that this rapid growth in the use of mobile services poses a major challenge—the supply of radio frequency spectrum used to support wireless communication is limited. But it also presents a great opportunity. In Canada alone, the wireless industry contributes an estimated $50 billion to the economy, supports some 280,000 jobs, and inspires the innovation of new products and services.

As an integral component of Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada (ISED) and its Spectrum, Information Technologies and Telecommunications (SITT) sector, the CRC is ideally positioned to meet the challenges, so that Canadians can realize the opportunities offered by the growing use of wireless communication.

Since 1969, we have been Canada's primary advanced telecommunications applied research centre, working closely with partners in government, the private sector and academia.

In the summer of 2016, we will open the Big Data Analytics Centre, a state-of-the-art research lab with visualization tools that will allow us to perform leading-edge research.

Our vision

  • As Canada's federal centre of excellence for wireless telecommunications R&D, be a leading contributor to solutions for wireless demand in a modern economy.

Our mission

  • Perform wireless telecommunications R&D that advances the efficient exploitation of the radio spectrum, and serves as the government's leading source of scientific knowledge and long-term technical advice for spectrum management, regulation and policy purposes;
  • Support critical wireless telecommunications operational requirements of Government of Canada departments and agencies, such as National Defence and Public Safety; and
  • Take part in strategic R&D collaborations that leverage CRC's activities, resulting in knowledge and technology transfer, to the benefit of Canadian industry, the economy and Canadians.
Date modified:

Notre objectif aujourd'hui

Les communications sans fil révolutionnent notre façon de nous parler, de faire des affaires et d'organiser notre vie. Aujourd'hui, les téléphones intelligents, les appareils GPS et les connexions Internet sans fil sont tout aussi indispensables qu'elles sont courantes. Cette dépendance à l'égard des communications sans fil ne fera que s'accentuer. En fait, les experts estiment que d'ici 2020, le trafic de données mobiles sera 1 000 fois plus élevé qu'aujourd'hui!

Au Centre de recherches sur les communications (CRC), nous sommes conscients que cette croissance rapide de l'utilisation des services mobiles soulève un problème important : le nombre de bandes de radiofréquences utilisées pour les communications sans fil est limité. Ce problème constitue toutefois une occasion exceptionnelle. Au Canada seulement, le secteur des technologies sans fil apporte à l'économie une contribution évaluée à 50 milliards de dollars, soutient quelque 280 000 emplois et favorise la mise au point de nouveaux produits et services.

Faisant partie intégrante d'Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada (ISDE) et de son Secteur du spectre, des technologies de l'information et des télécommunications (STIT), le CRC est bien placé pour relever ces défis et permettre ainsi aux Canadiens d'exploiter les occasions offertes par l'utilisation sans cesse croissante des communications sans fil.

Depuis 1969, nous sommes le principal centre de recherche appliquée en télécommunications de pointe du Canada, travaillant en étroite collaboration avec des partenaires du gouvernement, du secteur privé et du milieu universitaire.

En 2017, nous avons ouvert le Centre d'analyse des mégadonnées, un laboratoire de recherche à la fine pointe de la technologie disposant d'outils de visualisation qui nous permettront d'effectuer de la recherche d'avant garde.

La vision

  • À titre de centre fédéral d'excellence du Canada en recherche et développement (R-D) sur les télécommunications sans fil, assumer un rôle de premier plan afin de trouver des solutions visant à répondre à la demande de services sans fil dans une économie moderne.

La mission

  • Réaliser des activités de R-D sur les télécommunications sans fil pour favoriser l'exploitation efficace du spectre des radiofréquences et être la principale source de connaissances scientifiques et de conseils techniques à long terme du gouvernement sur la gestion du spectre, la réglementation et les politiques;
  • Satisfaire aux exigences opérationnelles fondamentales des ministères et des organismes du gouvernement du Canada, comme la Défense nationale et la Sécurité publique, en matière de télécommunications sans fil;
  • Prendre part à des collaborations stratégiques en R-D tirant avantage des activités du CRC et favorisant le transfert de connaissances et de technologies au profit de l'industrie, de l'économie et de la population du Canada.
Date de modification :