Our origins

Kennedy antenna dish used by the CRC to receive telemetry from the ISIS satellites in the 1960s.

For over 40 years, the CRC has responded to a broad range of telecommunications challenges and opportunities unique to Canada's telecommunications landscape. From antennas to algorithms, broadcast to broadband, and satellites to software—the CRC has played a critical role in charting Canada's course in communications.

For example, CRC's early satellite research led to the development of communications satellites used in broadcasting, search and rescue, and other applications serving Canadians today. CRC was the site of the first international terrestrial connection to ARPANET, precursor of the Internet. CRC's discovery of photosensitivity in optical fibre led to the establishment of high-speed Internet and spurred the growth of Canada's optical communications industry. CRC research and testing were instrumental in the adoption of North America's digital television standard. More recently, CRC research was fundamental to establishing new loudness control standards for TV broadcasting.

Canada's first satellite, Alouette 1, was largely designed, built and tested at the CRC's Shirleys Bay Campus. Dr. John Chapman reveals the internal electronics of the satellite in 1962.

Just as the Alouette satellite pioneers positioned Canada in space, a similar pioneering spirit is needed today, to navigate our nation through the coming era when demand for radio frequency (RF) spectrum puts pressure on its supply. The proliferation of mobile devices running bandwidth-hungry applications is putting pressure on this finite resource. A shortage could jeopardize not only personal and business communications, but public safety communications as well.

Technological solutions can help address the heavy demands being placed on spectrum. CRC's expertise lies in the wireless technologies and techniques of tomorrow that are adept at sharing spectrum, mitigating interference, optimizing interoperability and overall, capitalizing on this valuable resource. Fundamental to the future are CRC's advice and support to Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada, which manages spectrum, and to other government departments that rely heavily on wireless communications. Also important is our relationship with industry, academia and other research institutes for by working collaboratively, Canada will be better positioned to overcome the spectrum challenges on the horizon.

Date modified:

Nos origines

Réflecteur d'antenne Kennedy, utilisé par le CRC pour recevoir des données de télémesure provenant des satellites ISIS durant les années 1960.

Depuis plus de 40 ans, le CRC relève un vaste éventail de défis et saisit les possibilités sans pareilles qui s'offrent dans le paysage des télécommunications au Canada. Des antennes aux algorithmes, de la radiodiffusion aux services à large bande et des satellites aux logiciels, le CRC a joué un rôle crucial en fixant le cap de l'évolution du Canada dans le domaine des communications.

Les premières recherches du CRC sur les satellites, par exemple, ont conduit à la mise au point de satellites de communications utilisés en radiodiffusion, en recherche et sauvetage, sans oublier d'autres applications dont profitent maintenant la population canadienne. C'est au CRC qu'a eu lieu la première connexion terrestre internationale à ARPANET, le précurseur d'Internet. La découverte par le CRC de la photosensibilité dans la fibre optique a été l'origine d'Internet haute vitesse et a propulsé la croissance de l'industrie des communications optiques du Canada. La recherche et les essais effectués par le CRC ont grandement contribué à l'adoption de la norme sur la télévision numérique de l'Amérique du Nord. Plus récemment, la recherche effectuée par le CRC a eu des répercussions fondamentales sur l'établissement de nouvelles normes régissant le contrôle et l'intensité sonore pour la radiotélédiffusion.

Alouette 1, le premier satellite canadien, en grande partie conçu, construit et mis à l'essai au Campus de Shirleys Bay du CRC. M. John Chapman révélant les composants électroniques internes du satellite en 1962.

Tout comme les pionniers du satellite Alouette ont fait entrer le Canada dans l'ère de l'exploration spatiale, un esprit semblable de découverte s'impose aujourd'hui pour guider le pays à l'aube d'une ère nouvelle où la demande de spectre des radiofréquences exerce des pressions sur l'offre. La prolifération des appareils mobiles sur lesquels tournent des applications voraces en bande passante exerce des pressions sur cette ressource limitée. Une pénurie pourrait mettre en danger non seulement les communications personnelles et commerciales, mais aussi celles qui ont trait à la sécurité publique.

Des solutions technologiques peuvent contribuer à répondre à la forte demande imposée au spectre. Le savoir-faire du CRC réside dans les technologies et les techniques sans fil de demain, capables de partager le spectre, d'atténuer l'interférence, d'optimiser l'interopérabilité et, globalement, d'exploiter cette ressource précieuse. Les conseils et l'appui que le CRC fournit à Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada, gestionnaire du spectre, ainsi qu'à d'autres ministères qui comptent grandement sur les communications sans fil, sont essentiels pour l'avenir. Notre relation avec l'industrie, les milieux universitaires et d'autres instituts de recherche est tout aussi importante, car c'est par la collaboration que le Canada parviendra à surmonter les défis de demain sur le plan du spectre.

Date de modification :